了解大堡礁的健康情况

气候变化议题和全球性的珊瑚白化事件,令关注大堡礁健康发展的讨论变多。像世界上所有自然环境一样,大堡礁也面临环境性的挑战,同时也是世界上最壮观,最具适应力,被人类管理最完善的珊瑚礁系统之一。自 2017 年夏季(三月)以来,大堡礁从未发生过珊瑚白化事件,而我们对大堡礁的未来充满希望,欢迎观看以下由我们的海洋生物专家与旅客分享对大堡礁健康的评论。

完美的一天 2017 年 3 月 9 日,阿金考特礁(Agincourt Reef)

过去 2017 年 3 月的某一天,我们借着完美的机会,访问与我们出发的一些客人,他们在看到大堡礁的奇观后感到安慰而高兴。

2016 年 9 月 2 日 阿金考特礁(Agincourt Reef)

大堡礁经历了广泛报道的珊瑚白化事件至今已有六个月,主要发生在北昆士兰地区。尽管我们在凯恩斯和道格拉斯港地区的珊瑚礁也受到较小的影响,我们仍然很高兴可以在这个宏伟的世界遗产环境中继续展示珊瑚礁的健康和复完力。

我们与银梭集团的环境与规管部经理以及海洋生物学家道格·贝尔德 (Doug Baird) 会面,带领我们在原始的阿金考特礁进行了水中考察。

2016 年 6 月 - 第4波更新

2016 年 6 月 18 日 至 20 日,于 Pro Dive Cairns 潜水学校船宿上的乘客将分享他们在大堡礁上的经历和对当前珊瑚礁健康状况作出评论。一图胜千言,大堡礁的壮观,依然叹为观止。

在凯恩斯出发的 Pro Dive Cairns 潜水学校 3 天2 夜船宿,与银燕号 (Silverswift) 的潜水和浮潜游船一日游,将带您参观凯恩斯最壮观的外堡礁地区;飞林礁(Flynn Reef ),米林礁(Milnn Reef),福德(Thetford Reef)或百乐礁(Pellowe Reef)中 19 个独家潜点。

2016 年 6 月 - 第3波更新

大堡礁海洋公园管理局 (GBRMPA) 发布了有关今年夏天重大珊瑚白化事件的真正影响的初步调查结果。

GBRMPA 的初步报告发现:

  • 大堡礁北部三分之一是大多数与白化有关的主要珊瑚死亡率区域,从蜥蜴岛 (Lizard Island) 至约克角 (Cape York)之间。
  • 尽管白化情况也对道格拉斯港和凯恩斯港附近的珊瑚礁造成生存压力,受到的影响也较轻。当然,在一些较脆弱的珊瑚品种中仍然可以看到白化的现象,但明显有恢复的迹象。总体而言,道格拉斯港和凯恩斯港附近的珊瑚礁整体上仍然非常健康。
  • 媒体报道称 “ 93 % 的珊瑚礁实际上已经死亡” 是完全错误的。某些媒体和激进组织可能疏忽报道事实而误导公众。而实际数据预计总死亡率接近 22 %,其中 85 % 的死亡率将发生在约克角北端与蜥蜴岛以北(离凯恩斯以北 250 公里)之间。

有关更多详细信息,请访问 GBRMPA 珊瑚白化资源网页。
按里查看全文

2016 年 4 月 11 日 - 第2波更新

2 周前,我们与海洋生物学专家进行交流,以获取有关什么是珊瑚白化以及更新对我们地区的影响程度。

我们与银梭集团的环境与规管部经理道格·贝尔德 (Dougie Baird) 进行了会谈,以获取有关当前珊瑚健康情况的最新信息,并亏访问一些旅客,以了解他们当天的珊瑚礁体验。

2016 年 3 月 31 日 - 第1波更新

大堡礁是一个巨大而充满活力的自然奇观,面积约 344,400 平方公里。根据最近有关珊瑚白化的媒体报道,我们认为向大众陈述事实是非常重要的任务。因此,我们邀请银梭集团中两名高级环境专家和海洋生物学家进行讲解,让我们更好地了解什么是珊瑚白化及其潜在的影响。

银梭集团的高级海洋生物学家格伦·伯恩斯博士 (Dr. Glen Burns) 在以下影片中回答一些有关大堡礁的重点问题。

当珊瑚在生存环境中受到某程度的压力下,将自动从其细胞中强制排出被称为虫黄藻 (Zooxanthellae) 的微小共生藻,然后引致珊瑚白化现象。共生藻通过光合作用为珊瑚提供能量以供生长,繁殖,而珊瑚的颜色也是从该藻类而来。随着珊瑚的生存压力越来越大,越来越多的虫黄藻从珊瑚组织中排出,发展为越来越多的珊瑚剩下白色的骨架。所以白化的珊瑚还是还活着的,只是处于一个受压的状态。

造成白化的压力原因有很多:长时间被提高的海洋温度,突然下降的海洋温度(有时在冬天时于南部的大堡礁出现),大量的淡水涌入海洋(通常由热带风暴引起) 以及地表沉积物引起的不良水质(通常由地表径流引起) 。目前,珊瑚礁上某些区域正经历与 1998 年相近的厄尔尼诺现象,抵受着平均軷高的海洋温度。

大堡礁可画分为 4 个区域:远北昆区域,凯恩斯区域,中部区域和麦凯-南回归线区域。当前被新闻媒体上广泛报道的白化事件中,受影响最大的是远北昆区域区域中,蜥蜴岛一直延伸至约克角北端之间。蜥蜴岛距离 道格拉斯港约以北200公里,离凯恩斯以北250公里左右。

而凯恩斯地区则从北边的库克敦镇,经道格拉斯港,伸廷至凯恩斯以南地区,所以 “凯恩斯区” 并没有经历在 “远北昆地区” 的极端珊瑚白化事件。

任何種類的珊瑚都可能受到不同程度的影響,其中鹿角珊瑚和生長於淺水中的硬珊瑚一般將受到的威脅最大。 而大部份軟珊瑚是最具抵抗力的,但如果長時間暴露在高水溫下,它們也會出現白化現象並最終褪色。(觸發溫度:當比一般夏季最高溫度高出 1 攝氏而且該溫度持續達 4 週或以上)。

白化的确是可以令珊瑚死亡,但白化中的珊瑚也可恢复过来存活下去的。所以,珊瑚褪色或白化时并不意味着它的死刑。健康的珊瑚通常从虫黄藻(zooxanthellae) 获得大部分生存的能量,当珊瑚失去共生藻,珊瑚就会失去能量供应而"挨饿",如果以上提及的生存压力属于短暂性的(例如海水温度及时由高降低),珊瑚细胞将重新吸收虫黄藻,与此同时珊瑚的颜色也会迅速恢复。但是,出现过白化作用的珊瑚在那一年的生长和繁殖能力可能会出现下降的情况,并且更容易受其他因素感染。整体而言,如果生存压力发生的强度越大及时间越长,珊瑚死亡的机会就越高。

答案是可以的,其实大堡礁系统已有1800万年的历史,并在其生命周期内生生不息,从各种地球上的地质事件如冰河时期,海平面过低与过份温暖的海洋温度等的压力底下存活过来。在近年的白化事件中,当海洋温度降回至 29.5 摄氏以下,一些珊瑚就能够恢复,而不幸死亡的珊瑚可以在下一次珊瑚产卵中,被珊瑚幼虫当作 "居所",重新繁殖。在某些情况下,更有可能更具环境适应力的珊瑚虫 "重建" 该地区,。

这取决于白化事件的严重性和持续的时间,以及所涉及的珊瑚类型。恢复的时间可以是几周,几个月甚至几年。

短期来说的影响并不大,但长远来看,对于平常栖息在珊瑚群落中的海洋生物,将失去"保护区",可能更容易被猎食者捕猎,而通常以珊瑚虫为食粮的海洋生物,觅食来源也会相对减少。

目前在面对近年的白化事件当中,道格拉斯港和凯恩斯附近的珊瑚礁已被证实非常有生命力。当我们随着海水温度进入四月时份下降,受影响的珊瑚将开始恢复,死亡率极低。如果高水温仍然持续,那么鹿角珊瑚和其他较低抵抗力的珊瑚的死亡率将会变得显著。

欢迎观赏我司在珊瑚礁附近所拍摄的近照

阿金考特礁– 银梭号游船

Great Barrier Reef Health Information

Agincourt Reef – 2 September 2016

It’s now six months since the Great Barrier Reef experienced the widely reported coral bleaching event, predominantly in the Far Northern sector. Whilst our Cairns and Port Douglas region reef sites were impacted to a much lesser extent, we’re delighted to showcase the health and resilience of coral communities in this magnificent World Heritage environment.

We caught up with Quicksilver Group’s Environment & Compliance Manager, and Marine Biologist, Doug Baird, as he takes us on an underwater tour at the pristine Agincourt Reef.

Update #4 – June 2016

Passengers aboard Pro Dive Cairns’ liveaboard trip from 18-20 June 2016 share their experiences and current conditions on the Reef. Pictures may speak a thousand words, but this vision just might leave you speechless.

Pro Dive Cairns’ 3 Day 2 Night liveaboard trips, and Silverswift’s dive and snorkel day trips visit a selection of 19 exclusive reef sites in some of the most spectacular Outer Barrier Reef locations from Cairns at Flynn, Milln, Thetford and Pellowe Reefs.

Update #3 – June 2016

The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA) has released its preliminary findings on the true impact of this summer’s major coral bleaching event.

In a nutshell GBRMPA’s preliminary report found:

  • The majority of major bleaching related mortality is restricted to the northern third of the reef, from Lizard Island up to Cape York.
  • While the reef off Port Douglas and Cairns were stressed by bleaching, overall it wasn’t effected as severely. While bleaching stress is still visible in some of the more vulnerable corals, signs of strong recovery are evident. The reef off Port Douglas and Cairns is still very healthy overall.
  • Media reports stating that ’93 per cent of the Reef is practically dead’ are totally false. Some media and activist organisations were either purposely misleading the public, or completely negligent in their duty to report the facts. Overall mortality is projected to be closer to 22% with 85% of the mortality occurring between the tip of Cape York and just north of Lizard Island (250km north of Cairns).

For more detailed information visit GBRMPA’s Coral Bleaching resource page.
View the Full Article Here


Update #2 – 11 April 2016:

2 weeks ago we spoke to our Marine Biology experts for some up to date information about what coral bleaching is and to what extent it was affecting our region.

Today we catch up with the Quicksilver Group’s Environmental & Compliance Manager, Dougie Baird, to get an update on current conditions and have a chat with some guests to find out about their reef experiences.

Update #1 – 31 March 2016:

The Great Barrier Reef is a massive, dynamic living natural wonder spanning 344,400 sq km. In light of recent media coverage about coral bleaching we believe it important to state some of the facts. So we asked two of the Quicksilver Group’s senior environment and marine biologists to give us a better understanding of what coral bleaching is and what the impacts are.

Coral bleaching is caused when coral under stress voluntarily expel the microscopic marine algae, called ‘Zooxanthellae’, from their cells. Through photosynthesis these algae give corals most of the energy they need to grow, reproduce and provide the colour to the coral. As a coral gets more stressed more and more Zooxanthellae are ejected from the transparent tissue of the coral, and more of the corals white skeleton is revealed. The coral is still alive, but is in a distressed state.

Bleaching can be caused by a number of things: prolonged elevated ocean temperatures, sudden temperature drops (as seen in the southern part of the reef in winter occasionally), extreme amounts of freshwater (usually caused by tropical storms) and sedimentation caused by run off. What some areas of the reef are currently experiencing is above average ocean temperatures caused by a severe El Nino event, similar to what was experienced in 1998.

The Great Barrier Reef consists of 4 general sections: Far Northern Section, Cairns Section, Central Section and the Mackay-Capricorn Section. The area under the most stress from the current bleaching event that is being widely report in the news media, is the Far Northern Section that runs from Lizard Island up to the tip of Cape York. Lizard Island is approx. 200kms north of Port Douglas and 250kms north of Cairns.

The ‘Cairns Section’ which runs from Cooktown, past Port Douglas and down past Cairns, is not experiencing the extreme bleaching event seen in the Far Northern section.

All corals can be affected to varying degrees, but Staghorns and corals in shallow water are the most at risk. Soft corals are the most resilient, but if exposed to high water temperature for prolonged periods of time they will experience paling and eventually bleaching (1 degree Celsius above normal summer max temperature for 4 weeks is normally the trigger).o.

It can be, but not always. Importantly, coral bleaching does not mean a death sentence. As corals get most of their energy requirements from the zooxanthellae, without them the corals starve, but if the causative stress is short lived, the plant cells will be reabsorbed and the corals colour rebounds quickly. These corals may however experience reduced growth and reproductive capability for that year, and are more vulnerable to disease. The more prolonged the stress event, the more chance of mortality.

Yes, the Great Barrier Reef system is over 18 million years old and has rebounded from various geological events like Ice Ages, low sea water levels, and warmer water over its enormous life span. In the current bleaching event, some corals will recover once ocean temperatures drop below 29.5 degrees Celsius and corals that have died can be recolonised by coral larvae during the next spawning event. In some cases recovered areas may be recolonised by hardier corals and be more robust for future events.

It depends on the severity and length of the bleaching event, as well as the type of coral involved. It could be weeks, months or even years.

In the short term not much. In the longer term, fish which normally hide in coral colonies may be more visible to predators and therefore more vulnerable, and fish that normally eat coral polyps will find their food source is reduced.

Currently the reefs off Port Douglas and Cairns have proven to be very robust in the face of the current bleaching event. When the sea temperature decreases as is now trending as we move into April, affected corals will start to recover with minimal mortality. If the water temperatures remain high, then mortality in the staghorn and other more susceptible corals will become visible.

Recent photos taken at our reef sites

Agincourt Reef – Quicksilver Cruises