大堡礁国家海洋公园有关资讯

大堡礁无疑是世界上最重要的自然资产之一。它是地球上最大的自然海洋景观,沿着澳大利亚昆士兰州的东北海岸绵延 2300 多公里。从地理角度来看,它的面积与整个英国差不多大,是美国德克萨斯州的一半大小,或者可比上整个日本列岛链的长度。而且大堡礁是唯一能从外太空看到的水中自然地貌。

大堡礁海洋公园( GBRMP ) 是一系列超过 2,900 个独立的珊瑚礁组成,从北部的约克角 (Cape York) 一直延伸到南部的艾略特夫人岛 (Lady Elliott Island) 。它占地 34.8 万平方公里,包括不同大小的裙礁和堤礁,大陆岛屿,沙岛和 70 个不同的海洋生态区域,是世界上生物多样性最丰富的海洋系统。

尽管珊瑚礁已经存在了 5 亿多年,大堡礁却相对比较年轻,只有 50 万年,而我们近代看到的模样仅仅只有 8,000 年的历史,即是在地球的上一个冰河时代之后才发展起来的珊瑚礁系统。

这个 世界遗产名录 上的国家海洋公园,拥有超过 1,500 种鱼类, 400 种不同的珊瑚,4,000 种软体动物和 10,000 种海绵动物,是地球上生命最集中的地方。在这里发现了世界 7 种海龟中的 6 种。从 5 月到 9 月,在这些水域更经常遇到鲸鱼 !

大堡礁知识概览
  • 大堡礁是 联合国教科文组织 世界遗产名录上最大的自然遗产
  • 占地 348,000 平方公里 ( 134,364 平方英里)
  • 1975 年被宣布为国家海岸公园
  • 1981 年列入 联合国教科文组织世界遗产名录
  • 大堡礁的大不是一个单一的巨大珊瑚礁,而是由 2900 多个礁石,600 个多大陆岛屿和 300 个珊瑚沙礁组织而成。
有关大堡礁生物的资料

大堡礁生物研究项目 是一项重要的珊瑚礁研究计划,始于 1986 年。想了解更多有关栖息在大堡礁地区内的动植物生物学的更多信息
请按这里

Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Information

The Great Barrier Reef is undisputed as one of the world’s most important natural assets. It is the largest natural feature on earth stretching more than 2,300km along the northeast coast of Queensland, Australia. To put it in perspective, it covers an area about the same size as the United Kingdom, half the size of the state of Texas or the length of the entire Japanese island chain. It is the only natural structure that can be seen from outer space.

The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park (GBRMP) is a series of over 2,900 individual reefs, stretching from the tip of Cape York in the north to Lady Elliott Island in the south. Covering over 348 000 km2, it comprises fringing and barrier reefs, continental islands, coral cays and 70 different bio-regions, making it the most ecologically diverse system in the world.

Although coral reefs have been around for over 500 million years, the Great Barrier Reef is relatively young at 500,000 years, and this most modern form is only 8,000 years old, having developed after the last ice age.

This World Heritage listed marine park supports the greatest concentration of life on the planet with over 1,500 species of fish, 400 different corals, 4,000 species of molluscs and 10,000 species of sponges. Six of the world’s 7 species of sea turtles are found here. Whales are often encountered in these waters from May to September.

At a glance
  • The Great Barrier Reef is the world’s largest UNESCO heritage listed area
  • Covers a huge 348,000 square km (134,364 sq miles)
  • 1975 was declared a Marine Park
  • 1981 inscribed onto the UNESCO World Heritage List
  • It is not just one reef, but made up of over 2900 reefs, 600 rocky continental islands and 300 coral cays.
Reef Biology Information

Reef Biosearch is a Great Barrier Reef Research initiative which began operations in 1986. For more information on the biology of flora and fauna
that make up the Great Barrier Reef visit here.